Periodic Filtration Bypass to "Cleanse" household plumbing?

Users who are viewing this thread

Uellee

Reaction score
Is there a reasonable benefit to bypassing my GAC filter and softener for a period of time on some regular interval in order to use the chlorine in the city water to "clean" my household plumbing?

I live in southern Louisiana with a large amount of my plumbing exposed to the outside environment. With elevated temperatures for a good percentage of the time and no chlorine present, I am thinking that "stuff" could potentially start to grow inside my pipes after a period of time.

If bypassing is recommended, how often and for how long?

Thank you!

Reach4

Reaction score
I think so. I am not a pro.

I would put the WH in vacation mode or off. Then drain the WH to get rid of the non-chlorinated water.

How often? I would guess once per year unless you do plumbing work. I would even run that chlorinated water through the softener.

The chlorine levels will be low, so maybe give it many hours of contact time. Maybe run more water in the middle of the treatment to compensate for chlorine that gets used up reacting.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
Agreed. It is also beneficial for the water heater to run with hard water for a week a year. This will build up a few microns layer of hardness which will not affect efficiency but will provide an additional protective layer on the water heater components. Assuming you have copper, you should be ok. If you have pex, we see lots of interesting growth inside of that piping all the time with or without chlorinated water. Remember, .5 ppm of chlorine is not unusual to see in a municipal supply. This is typically not enough to kill stuff in a plumbing system, it is barely enough to maintain a clean system.

Uellee

Reaction score
95% of my plumbing is PVC w/ CPVC for hot water