Main sewer vent

Users who are viewing this thread

Wally Pfautz

Reaction score
Is there a requirement (UPC) that the the 4" main sewer line in our house needs a main vent to the roof?

I've seen in some plumbing diagrams what looks to be a large diameter (in this case probably 3") vent coming directly off the main sewer trunk and exiting thru the roof undiminished in size.

In my current design, all fixtures will have their own properly sized vents, and I satisfy the rule that combined thru roof vent area is greater than sewer area, but there is no main "soil stack". No individual vent is larger than 2". So I don't have a vent directly off the main sewer trunk. Is this wrong?

Thanks!

Hazel

Prashster

Reaction score
My house does not have one. It only has vents per fixture. In my reading and questions to my inspector (i'm no pro) there is no mention that the main requires its own vent, but it does require an unobstructed clean-out close to house-entry.

Wally Pfautz

Reaction score
Thanks Prashter

I'll have a the cleanout and I'm pretty sure the big vent is not required. But I'm at the point where I'm cutting into the house to make things fit so just wanted to be sure! Thanks

Dubldare

Plumber/Gasfitter
Reaction score
In MN (proprietary, state code), the most remote soil-conveying stack (from the sewer) must be kept fullsize through the roof. For all intensive purposes on smaller projects, fullsize is considered 3", yet the minimum building sewer size is 4". Teminations shall not be less than 2". In all cases, venting load is a concern and must be considered.

In ND (amended UPC), the cross-sectional area of vents terminated must equal the size of the building sewer/drain. (diameter of building drain)²*.7854= required area of vents. Taking a 4" building drain, we have the need for 12.56 in² of venting. A 2" vent equals 3.14 in², so four 2" vents would meet the requirement of a 4" building drain. Or a 3" and two 2" vents. Again, minimum termination is 2".