Katalox Light Help Needed

Users who are viewing this thread

Neil64

Reaction score
Hello All,

I have some knowledge of water treatment but not as much as most of you, and what knowledge I have gained is from the 6 years of managing this system, from this forum and consulting Dittohead.

6 year old System:

Output to input: Softener (Fleck 5810 SXT 1.5 cu ft. 10x54), Katalox Light (Fleck 5810 2.0 cu ft. 12x52), Neutralizer (Fleck 5810 1.5 cu ft. 10x54). In front of the neutralizer is a 4x20 20micron filter and before that a 90 micron Atlas Hydra Spin down in front of the pressure tank. All filters are clean/new.

Lately when Katalox regens, water has been gurgling or trying to drain from the vent on a 1" drain line going into a p trap. Regens were every other day, BW for 10mins and RR for 3. Also, KL continues to flow water with bypass valves shut - tried to take pressure off the unit by placing it in BW and unplugging.

So I started to think the P trap to the drain could have sediment build up but I vacuumed out what I could using a 5/16 line down the vent to the beginning of the P trap. Don't want to cut pipe if I don't have to.

BW seems OK but RR seems to struggle.

I was thinking of adding some bleach to the spin down and trying to get it into the KL tank and letting it soak but not sure how and how much.

I've also read here that some use brine draw to add air. KL is setup as a filter and has no brine draw. How would this work and what are the benefits?

How do you know when to replace the KL media? Water seems fine and pressures seem fine until regen and drain during regen.

What could be clogged or in need of maintenance to cause the drain issue and KL flowing water with bypass valves closed?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Neil

Reach4

Reaction score
1. Alan (Ditttohead) is still available by phone at Impact Water Products.