Installing cement board behind my shower

Discussion in 'Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog' started by KatrinaK, Nov 14, 2011.

1. KatrinaK

KatrinaK New Member

Hi Everyone,

I am remodeling my bathroom and am at the stage where I need to put the cement board up behind my shower. There is some vapor barrier there, but on the interior walls it only goes about half way down the wall. Does anyone have any thoughts on if I need to add more vapor barrier? There used to be drywall behind the shower, I'm not sure if having cement board now changes things?

Also, I am not sure how far down the cement board should go. The drywall that was there previously looked like it was just above the tub line, not touching it. This is one of those shower/tub combos.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated, I am very new to the do-it-yourself world! :)

Katrina
  2. jadnashua

jadnashua Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx

You do want a vapor barrier and bring it down lapped over the tub's tiling flange. You only need the cbu up to the height of the showerhead, but you can go further. To keep the cbu from bowing out, you can shim the studs, notch the studs (and recess the tub's flange so it is flush with the studs), or stop it slightly above the flange and make sure the tile is more than half supported on the cbu. The tile should not be touching the tub, but a slight gap that is caulked.
  3. KatrinaK

KatrinaK New Member

Thank you Jim, this helps a lot !
  4. johnfrwhipple

johnfrwhipple Bathroom Design & Build - North Vancouver, B.C.

post(s) deleted by John Whipple
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2014
  5. galerie

galerie New Member

Can LATICRETE Hydro Ban be installed on Durock Backberboard?
  6. mtcummins

mtcummins In the Trades

Correct me if i'm wrong, but I believe you should NOT have both a vapor barrier behind CMU and waterproofing over it. Its one of the other, and the waterproofing over CMU is the better option by far.