DWV Layout Assistance

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & ' started by robh, Jun 25, 2008.

1. robh

robh New Member

Hi folks.

I have a bathroom remodel project and some rather difficult venting constraints ( two outside walls, shallow ceiling, two tiered floor framing etc ). I made a stab at the venting ( see below ) although I suspect the wet venting of the tub and shower might not be up to code ( Seattle, WA ). The diagrams are color coded for pipe size - Red=3", Green=1.5", Blue=2".

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I would appreciate any pointers or suggestions.

-R
  2. robh

robh New Member

No feedback? It must be the most amazing layout anyone has ever encountered or it's the worst. :)
  3. sjsmithjr

sjsmithjr Geologist

I'm not a professional plumber, but:

I think the way you've tied in the washing machine drain will give you troubles.

It would appear to me that your premonition was correct about the tub and shower venting - that's not going to work.

I'm sure one of the pros will be along shortly.
  4. mnalep

mnalep New Member

I can't comment on the correctness, but I do wonder what software you used to create this?
  5. Redwood

Redwood Master Plumber

Okay...
    The tub is not vented with the elbows running down to the drain before hitting the vent you have made an S-Trap.
    The shower is not vented.
    Putting the washer on the toilet has created a venting issue there as well.
    Are those wye's or, sai-tee's bringing in the tub, lav, and shower to the red line?

Nice drawing by the way!
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2008
  6. hj

hj Moderator & Master Plumber Staff Member

dwv

The shower is not vented, and depending on how you actually install the tub trap, it could also have a problem. The washer into the toilet vent could create a problem, I have seen situations where draining the washer aspirated the water out of the toilet bowl.
  7. robh

robh New Member