DHW recirculation design

Users who are viewing this thread

roundrightfarm

Reaction score
Greetings,
I'm designing a DHW recirculation system for a building that includes three separate apartments. The hot water pipe will split into three separate branches right near the DHW tank. The first branch will serve one kitchen which is very close and will not be recirculated.

The other two branches (about 50' each) will be recirculated. My main question is whether is should combine these two branches into one long (about 100') recirculation loop or if I should have them meet, share a common return pipe to the DHW tank and install a balancing valve to control flow rate through both branches. The building's layout makes it convenient to do either.

The first branch will serve two full bathrooms, two kitchens, one half bath, and a washing machine. The second would serve one half bath and one full bath.

I have no experience with recirculation systems and I'm not sure if I am just imaging that the common return setup would even be a consideration, so let me know if I'm overthinking this. The only real advantage I can imagine to it is that the hottest water from the DHW tank will get to all the fixtures sooner and perhaps allow a recirc pump schedule that turns on less often. Otherwise, it is more costly and complex to install, but I'm mainly thinking about the lavatories at the end of the long loop that may never see water direct from the DHW tank. What if they are used right before the pump kicks on. Will they often be slightly cooler that the other fixtures? Any thoughts or advice from someone with experience would be appreciated.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score