Change in DWV System shared by shower & lavatory: Is this okay?

Users who are viewing this thread

Rob Redden

Reaction score
Hello. I am a newbie and find myself going crazy with a remodel of a 60 odd year old bathroom that requires major changes in a number of areas. I write now with questions regarding the best way to alter the DWV system shared by the shower and lavatory. I have included sketches of the existing system and the proposed changes I would like to make, with question as to the appropriateness of the changes. I used a simple graphics application to do the sketches, so I hope they are not confusing.

I am motivated to make changes for six primary reasons:

1. The existing system is constructed primarily of 1 ½†pipe, so it is not up to code in that regard.

2. It is constructed of soldered copper pipe, and I will need to use PVC.

3. The original shower base was a presently unusual, shallow tub-like unit that had an overflow drain, so the p-trap came very near to the wall plumbed for the shower. The replacement shower base will have a central drain considerably closer to the main drain pipe and the vent stack.

4. With the change in location of the shower drain, the drain pipe and p-trap come up under a pair of sistered joists as they approach the shower, so it will be difficult if not impossible to bring the vent down into the drain near the p-trap as it was in the existing system.

5. With the required minimum grading of the drain and vent pipes, running the vent pipe to enter the shower drain near the p-trap would require a number of inconvenient cut-outs in doubled headers acting as bridging in the joist system, in order to allow the vent pipe to run from the drain to the vent stack.

6. I would like to minimize the use of materials and simplify the project to the maximum degree possible.