Adding a laundry tub in the garage

Users who are viewing this thread

chatapuggy1

Reaction score
OK, I got limited space in the garage where my washer/dryers are located at. Want to stack them which will give me space where I can put in a small laundry/garage sink that I most desperately need.

My question is, all I have is the cold and hot hookups, and a drain pipe that comes out of the wall about 3.5 - 4 ft that the washer drains into. How can I:
1. Tap into the cold and hot for my sink, do they sell brass craft connectors with two hookups on them for each hot and cold?

2. How do get the drain on the sink to work? Do I put a trap together and then a flexible line that just goes up 3 ft to the drain pipe, and then just have the washer drain tied upon the side of the sink and drain into the sink?

Dont laugh too hard at my terminology, I am new at this, but it sounds way too easy to hire plumber to come in for this job. And my main concern is can you have a drain pipe under the sink go upward to the drainpipe and still work?

Thanks again!

Leejosepho

DIY scratch-pad engineer
Reaction score
Website
www.nonameyet.org
chatapuggy1 said:
... can you have a drain pipe under the sink go upward to the drainpipe and still work?

No, gravity wins.

With your water supply lines and a drain already there, what you would like to have should not be terribly difficult to do ... but you are probably going to need a plumber to make sure everything is vented properly and to cut into the existing water lines.

FloridaOrange

Plumbing Designer
Reaction score