Search results

1. karsc01

Trap primer needed on unused floor drain?

Here's a simple question. I'm planning on installing at least one (probably two) floor drains. It is a dry basement and they will only be there in case the water heater or the washing machine spring a leak. So most likely they will never be used. Now I could install a trap primer to make sure...
  2. karsc01

Reasons for basement plumbing setup?

Well, does nobody think I have anything to be concerned about with this setup? Is the concensus that it should be a simple matter to tie a grinder pump output into the existing 2" line with a new house trap? I tried to include a picture below since my description is long and may have discouraged...
  3. karsc01

opinions on rubber unions

It seems a little odd in the application you're describing. However I'm not a real expert and I can't see exactly what you're doing, so who knows. I know that in situations where I could have used them I just put a threaded PVC fitting that the copper screwed right into. But since you asked for...
  4. karsc01

Reasons for basement plumbing setup?

Reasons for this basement plumbing setup? I'm considering finishing my basement and putting in a bathroom with a sewage pump (or grinder pump). I've been researching various aspects of it for a few months now. However my current plumbing setup seems to be a little interesting and I'm looking...
  5. karsc01

Why is this not acceptable?

I've read several posts on here that talked about how having two floor drains on the same trap is not acceptable as shown in the diagram below. Could someone explain to me why this is not acceptable? I ask because these drains are going to be rarely if ever used and there's no wall or...
  6. karsc01

Opinions on waterless trap primers.