Wisbro Tubing - Possible Cons?

Users who are viewing this thread

WillieK

Reaction score
Wirsbo Tubing - Possible Cons?

I am fixing to plumb a new construction in South East Texas. Single story with a 50% floored attic that will be used about once a week. The home is going to be completely sealed (walls and underside of roof deck) with spray foam insulation. The attic will be lighted with fluorescent lights.

I am a total Newbie. I have been researching like crazy - reading every site including this one. I could never explain how much everyone's previous posts have already helped me. However, now it is my turn, as a newbie, to ask 5 questions.

1) Why does Uponor/Wirsbro have this warning: Do not install Wirsbo PEX between the tub/shoulder valve and tub spout?

Uponor also warns of the following:

Do not spray on or allow organic chemicals, pesticides, strong acids or
strong bases to come into contact with Wirsbo PEX.

Do not use petroleum or solvent-based paints on Wirsbo PEX.

2) Based on the above statements, is it safe to run pex in a wall that will be sprayed with foam insulation?

3) At this point, I plan to run pex as a home run using two Wirsbo Aquacenter manifolds. Since I plan to run the pex through the attic, is it safe to do so (UV wise) since I will have fluorescent lights in the attic that will be used about once a week for several hours at a time?

4) Wirsbo's Aquacenter manifold valves are replaceable. Why would they need to be replaced and how long can I expect them to last? I realize they have O-Rings but is that something that will not last? Furthermore, would it be better to periodically close and reopen these valves or leave them alone until/unless needed?