Recessed light over shower

Users who are viewing this thread

Magicrat

Reaction score
Hello,

I plan on installing a HALO recessed light and shower trim cover over a corner (neo-angle) shower. A few quick questions....

Does the light need to be part of a GCFI protected circuit?

Is it ok to branch from the load side of a GFCI wall outlet to the light?

Thanks

Beekerc

IT Consultant / Network Engineer
Reaction score
recessed shower light

standard caveat: i am not an electrician, however, i have wired two bathrooms with such lights and they have passed inspection. that being said....

Does the light need to be part of a GCFI protected circuit?

my understanding is no, unless the switch controlling the light is reachable from the tub/shower. i don't know what the code definition of reachable is, but an electrician did explain it as greater than the distance that you can reach while being able to touch a wet surface in the shower/tub. this roughly equates to 3 to 5 feet. i'm inclined to think that even if it's outside that range, since it's a switch you're likely to hit while still wet (getting out of the shower), it's probably a good idea to GFCI it anyway.

Is it ok to branch from the load side of a GFCI wall outlet to the light?

yes. however, i would go GFCI (load side) --> switch --> light.

Jar546

In the Trades
Reaction score
Website
www.inspectpa.com
GFCI protected? Short answer, No, as long as the fixture and trim is listed for the application and properly secured.

You can only use the GFCI required receptacle power for this ONLY if the circuit feeds the bathroom in question and no other bathrooms. If it feeds off to another bathroom receptacle as many do then the answer is NO, you cannot use that power at all.

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score