Grout question/Does it take 3 days to dry?

Users who are viewing this thread

highclassbrass

Reaction score
OK< so I'm a musician and NOT a plumber. But I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night...

My question: I had a leak where my soapdish was in the shower and it eventually flooded my carpet on the wall opposite the dish. I replaced a 17 inch by 12 inch hole with backboard and then retiled (no soapdish thank you) with combination pre-mixed adhesive and grout/unsanded. This was on the advice of the guy at Lowe's.

Anyway, it looks great if I must say so myself. I nailed the backboard into the 2x4 and the tile is lined up nicely. The adhesive/grout says to wait 72 hours before using. It that necessary? It went on real sticky and tight and looks to be secure. The reason I am impatient is I have the carpet guy coming in 2 days to replace the pad and I want to make sure it's not leaking before I go to all that trouble.

Thanks.....:confused:

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
What did you do to make this waterproof? It was not done correctly the first time, or water would never have gotten into the wall. Grout is not waterproof, and neither is backer board. There should be a water proof membrane ( plastic or 15 pound felt are two types) behind the backer. Joints on the backer taped with mesh and mudded with thinset. The adhesive to attach the tiles should be thinset, or if mastic is used it must be rated Type 1 ( like AcrylPro brand.). Regular "combo" mastic and grout is not suitable for a shower.

Now, for the good news. Your repair will probably be fine, and water will just run off the surface, and probably you will never have any leaks behind there.

For excellent details and advice on tile work, visit the tile forum: www.johnbridge.com

highclassbrass

Reaction score
Thanks for the info. Grout is not waterproof? That makes no sense. Are you saying water can get through it? There's nothing between the tiles except grout. How can that be, not waterproof?