Looking for new water treatment system

Users who are viewing this thread

Pologuy9906

Reaction score
Im looking for advice on a new treatment system. I have 3 bathroom, 2 adults and two boys. Ages 14 and 7. Had the water tested. See below.
1. pH 7.8
2. Color 15
3. Manganese 0.14
4. Iron 0.30
5. Hardness 56

I had Culligan and others over. I can do the install with the help of a plumber friend or family member. Any recommendations?

Reach4

Reaction score
"5. Hardness 56"
If that is grains per gallon, you will need a water softer in addition to whatever else. If it is ppm like your iron and manganese numbers, you will not.
I am not a pro. Here is my guess:

Presuming grains, I would think 1 or 2 Big Blue 20x4 inch filters followed by a water softener with a separate brine tank would do it for hardness and iron. That gives cheap maintenance, softens water, removes cloudiness, removes iron (you may or may not need special salt). I don't know about the Mn.

When you install, I would leave space for a backwash tank filter to be added before the Big Blue housings, in case you wanted to go to enhanced filtration later.

Others will have a better idea. Maybe I am putting too much hope on a water softener.

Last edited:

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
Sounds fairly reasonable.

Minor concerns, flow rate for 3 bathrooms, a slightly "oversized" system compared to capacity will be needed. A softener will remove the remianing small amount of hardness and the iron and manganese. I would clean the resin with a simple resin cleaner every few months if you use a softener for this application. A BB sediment pre-filter would be acceptable for color removal depending on what is making up the color. A dual stage BB filter may be a better idea since you can stage the sediment filters for longer life. I sent you a PM.

Hey, wait a minute.

This is awkward, but...