Removal and Replacement of ACCOR FlowTite Shut Off Valves

Users who are viewing this thread

Alkraut

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to this great forum, but I have done much DIY plumbing repairs and have good mechanical skills and tools. I need some advice/instruction on a valve replacement that I have never done.

My home in Florida was built in 2006 and the builder used ACCOR "push-on" FlowTite shut offs on all of the connections. These have the push-pull knob and a crimped-on flex hose. There are 11 in the house for the toilets and sinks, and I have heard much about the leaks and failure of these cheap valves. The pipe is CPVC. I would like to replace these valves with reliable metal valves and metal braided hoses. My internet searches tell me that these are Sharkbite type push-on valves, but that they do not have a release sleeve to remove them. In most cases, I do not have enough pipe sticking out of the wall to just saw them off. I read that others have "twisted and pulled" as well as "butchered" them to get them off. My concern is not to damage or "spiral" the outside surface of the CPVC so the new valves will seal without issues.

Is there a preferred method on removing them? I have pipe cutters, Dremel with various saws and bits and various wrenches and pliers. Again, my concern is retaining a good surface on the existing pipe. Also, once off, what is the recommended replacement for a angled metal shut off valve? Sharkbite or compression? Thank you for advice and recommendations.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score