Polyethylene Pipe Issue

Users who are viewing this thread

Reg

Reaction score
I have a friend who installed 184 feet of water line by joining 100 ft rolls of 3/4" polyethylene underground with the barbed joiners and hose clamps. He told me that initially it would not hold together after applying pressure and that each time he thinks he has it repaired, the joint fails within a few days. I have no experience with polyethylene, but I found a few threads on here that mentioned the technique of heating the pipe carefully to insert the barbed connector, installing two clamps (opposed) per side, the torquing them correctly after the pipe cools.

I have not seen the installation, but he told be he abraded the pipe to get more "tooth" in an effort to get more grip on the barbs. Could this be a problem? I am not sure if he was aware of the techniques described above. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

NHmaster3015

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Yes, mild heat, double, opposed clamps but most important is to use either a brass or stainless steel barb coupling, no plastic crap. And, do not "abrade" the pipe in any manner, inside or out.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
You said he torqued the clamps! You cannot get a proper connection on this with a screw clamp. He really needs to get the proper CRIMP - type clamps.

180' is a little long for 3/4. He may have pressue loss issues.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
MOre important, what is the pressure on the line? If it is blowing apart, he may have too much pressure and need a PRV at the source. If he has extreme pressure a 180' 3/4" line may work, but normally it would be marginal at best.

NHmaster3015

Master Plumber
Reaction score
I doubt that any submersible pump would generate enough pressure to blow apart a properly made barb joint. Hell we routinely set pumps at 500' or so on a barb fitting and it's got to have a hell of a lot more torsion on it than any pump could deliver.

Reg