Uponor PEX question

Users who are viewing this thread

jam99

Reaction score
Hi.

Newbie here looking for some advice.
I have copper pipes running off of my hot water heater that connect to Uponor aquapex plastic hosing. There is a cut off valve that is wide open before the Uponor connects to a spot where one hose goes upstairs to my kitchen sink (running great with good hot water pressure) and the other hose heads upstairs to my bathroom. The hot water pressure in my upstairs bathroom is horrible. I have a 2 handle faucet system in my bathroom sink and the hot water pressure is 10% of the cold water. In the shower, I can only have a decent hot shower for less than 5 minutes before the water turns cool and I can't turn the one handle system any more left to make it hotter. When this happened I checked my kitchen sink to see if I was indeed out of hot water but it was fine (I ran straight hot water for 5 minutes and it was still very hot).
This Uponor hosing is new to me (just moved into this house) and I'm at a loss as to what steps to take to try to fix this.
Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
One of your valves may have a cross-over leak which lets the hot-cold interchange. This will make the hot line warm as well as the cold one, and limit how hot things can get elsewhere in the house. As to the hot volume, that hose may have a kink in it or that valve may have a screen filter on it's inlet that is plugged.

All modern anti-scald valves have a max temp adjustment to them...yours may be set incorrectly. This adjustment might be a screw, a cam, a piece of plastic with notches pushed into the handle, etc. Its whole purpose is to limit hot hot the valve can get - you may need to adjust that.

jam99

Reaction score
Hi Jim.

Thanks for the response.
I don't think its an issue of cross-over leak, but it could be the screen filter being plugged?