Wiring clarification for recessed LED lights

Users who are viewing this thread

stardog

Reporter
Reaction score
Our home was built in the early 1960's and consequently still has much of the old wiring (2-prong receptacles, not 12-2 or 14-2 conduit as is used today). All of it is still in good shape. Over the years I have been able to upgrade some of the circuits to current code as I complete various interior remodeling projects around the house.

I have a single ceiling light in the hallway, controlled by two switches, that is still on an "old wire" circuit. I want to replace this ceiling fixture with two 4" recessed LED lights (strung together), with one dimmer switch (the second light switch will be removed from the circuit and no longer used).

Although knowledgeable, I am not an electrician. I was advised by someone with electrical experience that installing the recessed LED's, along with a dimmer switch, without upgrading the conduit to 12-2 is not a good idea and may not meet code. Something to do with potential grounding issues. I had never thought of this being an issue until now.

Does anyone know if this is true? That I need to upgrade the circuit that the current ceiling fixture is on to 12-2 (or alternatively create a separate 12-2 circuit for the LED's), before installing the recessed lights? What I assumed would be a simple swap out of ceiling lights now has me seeing $$$$ in the event I have to first upgrade the wiring. Many thanks for anyone's input on this.

Reach4

Reaction score
Does anyone know if this is true?
I would be shocked if that were true. What is this "electrical experience" you referred to?

The dimmer needs to be LED-suitable.

stardog

Reporter
Reaction score
It was news to me, as I didn't think it made any sense. You, and others as well, seem to agree this is not a valid concern. So I will call my regular electrician (not the guy who gave the original advice) and have the lights swapped out. Tks for the input.

Reach4