Which water heater brands are better?

Users who are viewing this thread

mountain-top mike

Reaction score
Good Morning. First post here. I am in the process of researching tank type natural gas 50 gallon heaters. I have been installing my own for the last 30 years or so and have been using American Water heater group exclusively. They have been 100 gallon models and I get about 20+ years life from them. I have not had a single problem from any of them throughout their life and would like to get another one from them. But since I have not needed a heater since 1994, it seems that their quality has gone down hill. Internet reviews have been less than stellar on this brand as well as from Bradford-White, a brand I am considering. My suppler has discontinued carrying American. They now carry American Standard. I have always had good results from A S as far as their toilets and sinks are concerned. I have not seen any negatives from American Standard. As far as Bradford-White is concerned I hear numerous complaints from tanks leaking after a short period of time to bad thermo switches. It could be bad maintenance on these units or maybe just bad product runs.
I maintain my heaters fairly well, I think that is why they last.

Last edited:

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
Buying a water heater is a hit or miss, regardless the manufacturer. Just put your money and hope for the best.

Servicing a WH on a regular basis, helps.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
First you have to realize that there are NOT a lot of different water heaters, just a lot of different brands. Rhemm, Ruud, RIchmond, GE, Hotpoint, Vanguard, etc. are the same heaters. American, Whirlpool, and a few others are made also made by a single company. But no matter which heater you buy it is a crap shoot, because yours may last a few years or decades and there is no way to tell ahead of time which you will get.

Rayh78

Reaction score