Which mud for drywall & hardie joint

Users who are viewing this thread

Do It Myslelf

Reaction score
5DA439FC-0053-4D6D-A7E4-0D4DD6EDCDFC.jpeg

2AC18772-25BB-4540-B301-6EB27B9AC7B7.jpeg

I’ve come to a point where I’m not sure what to do in my bathroom remodel. The hardie board and drywall joint is boggling me for some reason. So my question is which joint mud should I use in the pictured joint. Would I use drywall mud with fiberglass tape or mortar with tape made for cement board application?
As you can guess, I am a DIY girl, I’m new at this and still learning but I want my project done correctly because I’m also a bit OCD.
Can you tell that from all the mudding spots? Lol!
I need guidance, please!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
At this stage, you have a couple of choices.

One thing that appears to be missing is a moisture barrier behind the HardieBacker. When building a shower surround, you have two ways to manage moisture, you either put a moisture barrier behind the boards on the studs and lap it over the tiling flange, or you put waterproofing on top of the wall board. If you don't want to take all of the Hardie off to install a moisture barrier (a sheet of plastic or roofing felt is usually used), then, you need to deal with surface waterproofing. There are a couple of different methods:
- a sheet membrane, sort of like wallpaper
- a painted on waterproofing material