well water stopped working

Users who are viewing this thread

jimmay

Reaction score
I'm VERY new at the subject of well water and all that goes into making it happen and need some advice. I'm house sitting for a friend and yesterday the water stopped working. She has a well system with a Franklin 280 107 49 control box, a pumptrol square d 30/50 pressure switch, a well-x-trol tank, and I have no idea what the pump is or the depth of the well. The pressure gauge reads 2psi though I don't know what it was before. Now the water wasn't decreasing in pressure over time, literally one minute it was working and 5 minutes later there was absolutely no water happening anywhere in the house and I wasn't running water and we didn't have a power out when it stopped. The only other info I have is when I took the cover off the pumptrol to see what was happening with the contacts, with the switch down (where it was when I started investigating) the contacts were open, but when I flick the switch to the up position the contacts immediately click back to the open position. I also checked the breaker and it wasn't flipped off either. This isn't my house and I'd love to get it working on my own before my friend comes home but like I said, I'm a total newbie with this stuff. Any help anyone could give would be greatly appreciated.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Low pressure cut off switch. Just hold the little brass lever up just a bit so the contacts touch. Hold it this way until the pressure gets up to 30, then you can turn it loose.

jimmay

Reaction score
valveman said:
Low pressure cut off switch. Just hold the little brass lever up just a bit so the contacts touch. Hold it this way until the pressure gets up to 30, then you can turn it loose.

K, gave that a try. Held the contacts closed for almost 10 minutes but the guage never moved from 0psi. Any other ideas?

Thanks for your quick reply

Jimmy

Gary Slusser

That's all folks!