Well Water Chlorination Systems

Users who are viewing this thread

Desmandhue

Reaction score
Hello I am looking to get a chlorine system and was looking for suggestions. I would mainly be getting it for sulfur and iron and to help my water smell better. I had my water tested and there is no bacteria so that is a plus. my question is should I go with an in line pellet feeder or injection system, and any recommended stores I could buy the system from

Beets

Reaction score
The pros on this forum are going to ask for a full water analysis, and flow rates.

I am not a pro. I'm a home owner with experience dealing with H2S smell using chlorine and hydrogen peroxide. I probably shouldn't say anything as I don't know about iron and I know it can be really problematic. However, a chlorination system could be as simple as buying a stenner pump, a holding tank (for contact time), and a 10x54 back washing filtration media. You can order all of these from on-line suppliers and assemble a system much cheaper than your local pro, but your local pro has years of experience and will know what works for your area. You may be solving things by trial and error. It would be good to ask your neighbors what they have and take some pictures.

You mention no bacteria. If that is true, you should likely be asking about hydrogen peroxide instead of chlorine. With hydrogen peroxide, you may not need the retention tank. Again, I don't know if this advise is good for iron.

MaxBlack

Reaction score
When we lived in Texas this would have been easy, cuz our system had a 1,000gal holding tank, and a shallow well pump drawing from *it*, so I could dump-in all manner of pellets or peroxide, and did at times.

Now we're up North like you with stinky well water. Have a water softener for the hardness, and a 20" big blue housing with 20" gac filter after it, which does help quite a bit, but it's less than ideal for the hassle and cost of filter changes.