Well system not reaching set pressure after water use.

Users who are viewing this thread

chipdouglas

Reaction score
Hey folks, long time (8 years) well owner, first time trying to figure this issue out. First off, I am not too sure about specifics about my well, so please bear with me. My well is several hundred feet deep, and when used heavily for a day (multiple loads of laundry, showers, etc) it will sometimes not get up to the cut off pressure of my well pump switch (it is a 40 PSI-60 PSI switch). So for example, I will do multiple loads of laundry, and when the washing machine has shut off, the well will pump to about 50 PSI and not increase. Here's the kicker: I will then shut off my switch manually, and a few hours later switch it back on and it will pump up to the desired 60 PSI. I have looked extensively on the internet for a resolve to my issue but I cannot find a solution. I work in the HVAC field and know my way around plumbing electrical etc. but cannot figure this one out. So please help!! I really do appreciate it!

Reach4

Reaction score
After those times that you could not make 60 PSI, do you notice air in your water? Your well may be running out of water.

There are devices that can detect the pump running out of water by monitoring the electrical current. They will shut down the pump for an interval in that case. That would be a good thing for you. http://www.cyclestopvalves.com/prod_sensor.html is one such product.

One thing you can do is to pace your water use. Another possibility is to put in an above-ground storage tank with a pressure pump to provide pressure to the pump.

It is also possible that you could get the pump dropped. That could result in sucking sediment. Or not.

Thall

Reaction score