Well storage system

Users who are viewing this thread

BJC

Reaction score
Our system is set up with 2 pumps. The well has been set up on a timer to the tank for the past 25yrs. (4 times a day 3 tminutes each cycle) The timer finally fizzled. If I use the Coyote to protect my pump would I need a timer with it?

Reach4

Reaction score
Usually for filling a tank, you would use a float switch as the primary control.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Yeah a float switch in combination with a Cycle Sensor is the most common way to fill a cistern.
LOW YIELD WELL_ CENTRIFUGAL_PK1A.jpg

laughlinfamily1

Reaction score
I am looking for advice on installing a home water storage tank system. I have a low-yield well and have researched some options through this website and others. I am a novice but somewhat capable handy-man and believe I could install it myself. I have most of the parts required, though I have yet to obtain a tank. I am wondering about the float switch. I have a Pumptec device to protect my submersible well and a control box (without a capacitor). I have read several wiring diagrams for wiring these together but have yet to understand how to wire in the float switch for the submersible (primary) pump. Can any float switch be wired into this system, or do I need one float switch that is closed (turning the pump on) when down to fill the storage tank with the primary submersible pump, and a different type of float switch that is closed when up, keeping the booster pump potentially on, and open when down to protect the booster pump front running out of water in the tank? That is, can any float switch be wired to be closed when up or closed when down?

Reach4

Reaction score
a control box (without a capacitor).
You may be referring to a pressure switch.