Well Pump short cycling - only when running water

Users who are viewing this thread

Tom Davis

Reaction score
Hi,
Any help appreciated.
Pressure gauge reads 44 psi.
when water runs the pressure switch engages every 15-30 seconds even though pressure gauge never changes @44psi. Worked fine for over 20 years.
I'm just starting out here so any recommendations would be helpful. I have not checked any pressures, either system or tank yet. But wondering what would cause short cycling in general when water is run only. It seems to me it would be the pressure switch but not sure.
Thanks
-TD

Reach4

Reaction score
On the gauge always reading 44, get a new gauge.

On the short cycling, set your air precharge correctly.

Odds are you need a new pressure tank, but not necessarily.

Maybe tell us more about your well, pump, and pressure tank.

Tom Davis

Reaction score
On the gauge always reading 44, get a new gauge.

On the short cycling, set your air precharge correctly.

Odds are you need a new pressure tank, but not necessarily.

Maybe tell us more about your well, pump, and pressure tank.

Thanks!
This is for a friend so i will go back and check more.
The Tank is a Wellmate wm-14b , factory precharge 40 psi. I understand I need to look at the underside of the cover for the pressure switch for base settings and will do, so at least initially should I be checking for 40psi on the tank?
I'm just initially trying to understand regardless what might be making it cycle like that, been doing for like 3 months and obviously will burn out pump if not fixed. I have a pressure gauge to read house pressure which hopefully matches.
I'll respond with the tank and that house pressure measurement tomorrow and appreciate the quick response!
I know nothing about the actually pump at this point.
Thanks
-TD

Reach4

Reaction score