Well learned what flat vents are, please review and tell me how to improve.

Users who are viewing this thread

Master of None

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to plumbing, mostly because I can't find anyone worth a darn. After looking through the forum I realized I've made a mistake in the past and that is doing flat venting! Like other newbies I thought the more the better with vents.

Anyhow I have attached a picture of what I believe to be a correct way to plumb the upcoming job I have. I will be using long sweeps on all of the 2" lines and have added a clean out at the end of the line for fun. This will all be going into a sump pump in the storage area and will be pumped up about 8' into the main trunk line. The red circles are my vents.

Please let me know if you see anything wrong!

Thank you, Alex
Plumbing Idea.jpg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The lav can wet vent the tub, but you need to not have the washer come in at that point. Only bathroom fixtures can use wet venting.
Either the tub gets it's own vent, or you use the lav to vent, and the washer comes in downstream of all of that. The washer needs it's own vent.

Master of None

Reaction score
So have the tub cross over to the sink drain. Is there any other way to vent the tub?

As far as the laundry is it best to just run parallel to the main line until I'm past the toilet and tie in there?

Thank you for your help!

Master of None

Reaction score
If you can't "find anyone worth a dime" in Atlanta, you must not be looking very hard.