Waterproofing Liners for an ACO Shower Drain

Users who are viewing this thread

JohnfrWhipple

BATHROOM DESIGN & BUILD
Reaction score
I got this email from a client (friend now) of mine out in London, Ontario. I'm going to call him Bob (not his real name). Bob and I have been chatting and designing his master bathroom for coming on two years I think. Bob works for the post office, is a dad and when he has time picks away at his new dream steam shower he is building.

I have spend hours talking with Bob. Ironing out details. Choosing the best steam shower vapour system (NobleSeal TS of course) and the finer elements.

Bob needed a drain - so of course I pushed the ACO one on him. Bob needed help building the steam shower and here is where things go South. Is there no skilled builders in London, Ontario? WTF - this guy is getting shafted. I might have to fly out and help him myself. And this is a serious consideration.

Bob has called many pros in. None want to flood test their work. ahhhh SCARY.

Bob has had to fix other "Pros" ####$% ups.

The last Pro plumber came in and told Bob this....

I'll quote the email.

I had a visit from a plumbing company here in London.

This is what the guy said about installing this drain.

“it’s easy, we can come install 2 liners in the shower” Then you mortar over top of the liner and set the drain in then”
He also said that cutting the ends of the trough is a no no cause water will fill up in it and go out the edges leaking into your ceiling.

I need to talk to you lol

So lets look at what was said.

"It's Easy" - I would agree with that if humping up 50 pound bags of mortar is easy. If in Easy making sure the pre-slope is perfect is also considered.

"We can Come and Install 2 liners in the shower" - Two - Not one. OMG who are these hacks. Who installed two liners in one shower with one drain?

"Then you mortar over top of the liner and set the drain in there" - OK, this they got right.