Water Softener Sizing

Users who are viewing this thread

acicomp

Reaction score
Hey Folks,
I am new to the softener world and trying to come up to speed pretty quick. I have been doing a lot of reading through the forum, etc... Anyways... We bought the house we are in last year and the water hardness has consistently measured 15 gpg. I am preparing to purchase a new softener, most likely a Fleck 5600sxt and just wanted to get some opinion on the correct size for efficiency.

We have the following to go by:
7 people in the house (Hopefully to drop lower in the next year or two as some finish college...)
2 Bathrooms
Hardness - 15gpg
Well Water with sediment filter after well pump
No iron issues
3/4 piping

I was originally, at a glance, thinking about a 5600sxt - 48,000 grain, however, before I purchase, after looking at the calculator I saw here on the forum tonight, I might be better off with the 5600sxt - 64,000.

Can someone give some insight here to what the more efficient size would be to help keep salt purchases to a minimum down the road?

Thanks for any input!

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
The larger system would be better, up to a certain size, larger will be more efficient. If you go past 30 days between regenerations, the larger sizes are wasted.

acicomp

Reaction score