Water Softener install question

Users who are viewing this thread

kquinnell

Reaction score
I would like to install a water softener and I would just like some advice. I have never done any plumbing before and I just wanted to make sure what I was thinking was correct. The picture I have attached is a picture of the pipes below my water heater. The left 2 pipes are connected to the hot side (output) of the water heater. I am assuming one pipe for each side of the house. Out of the right 3 pipes the one going up goes to the input of the water heater. I am assuming out of the 3 coming out of the concrete, 1 is the main water line in and the other 2 branch to both sides of the house just like I assume the hot water lines do.

I would like to take apart the 3 lines on the right, figure out which is the main water, feed it into the water softener and connect the remaining lines to the output of the water softener so that I have hot and cold soft water. Am I right in assuming the main water must be one of the 3 lines coming out of the concrete or am I missing something ?

Thank you,

Kyle

Attachments

• pipes.JPG
    pipes.JPG
    27.6 KB · Views: 985
Last edited:

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
You should be able to find the inlet without taking them apart.

1. Turn off all water usage in the house.
2. Heat the 3 possible inlet lines for about 4 inches next to the concrete with a torch or heat gun, but keep below the boiling point.
3. While checking the three possible inlet lines with your hand, have someone run some HOT water.
4. The one that gets cold first where it comes out of the concrete is the supply line.

Bob NH

In the Trades
Reaction score
When you find the feed line you don't have to touch the others.

Cut the cold supply line about 1.5 inches above the concrete and remove a section long enough so you can solder two elbows on the ends where you have removed the section.

The elbow from the supply pipe goes to the inlet of the softener.