Water Softener Drain - Do we need a Vent for a Floor Drain or ?

Users who are viewing this thread

-Jim-

Reaction score
Hi Gents,

This is my first post and I'm an Electrician, and not a plumber, so please go easy on me. Thanks.

My Brother & I inherited the Cabin (actually a small house but we call it the Cabin) from my Mom, and it was built in 1979 across the road from Paul Lake in the interior of BC (Canada). We typically only use it for a couple of months a year in the summer; with a few long weekends here and there. The Water for the Cabin is pumped from the lake, and until recently was untreated, as my folks thought the water was "just fine". Anyway, after a couple Boil Water Advisories from the local health authorities quashed that myth (and my wife wouldn't go there partly because of the poor tasting, spots on everything, water "smell", etc.); I decided to put in some water treatment equipment (Filters, Softener, & UV Sterilizer). It works great => except for one issue.

The is no floor drain in the Pump Room. The Cabin is a slab on ground, and I'm amazed Code did not require floor drains in 1979 for Pump Rooms. (There is no floor drain in the entire basement which has a bathroom & a laundry room. See drawing attached. The Pump Room is under the stairs that lead up to the main floor.) The Water Softener requires a drain for regeneration discharge, and in case of malfunction causing an overflow situation. I was to install the treatment equipment and make certain the new system would function before my brother was to help tackle the Drain issue. (He too is an Electrician and not a plumber - and very wary of doing any plumbing.)