Water pressure and volume problems

Users who are viewing this thread

Gurrenteed

Reaction score
Here's the background:

My 4 bedroom house was built in 1994. There is a 3/4" copper supply line that comes through the foundation and later splits into pex for the rest of the house.

I recently was looking at installing a sprinkler system and found that the static pressure coming into my house is 130 psi! I initially didn't believe the gauge and thought it must be faulty, so I took the gauge to work (I'm a firefighter) and tested the pressure readings on a fire truck outlet and the pressures matched. The pressure gauge is good.

If I crack open any faucet in the house while the gauge is in place, the residual pressure drops to less than 60 PSI. If I fully open the faucet, the residual pressure drops below 30 PSI.

PRV - the pressure reducing valve is a 3/4 Zurn Wilkins #70. I found the adjustment to be all the way in, which I believe provides the highest pressure. Adjusting this valve did nothing to the static pressure but it significantly reduced volume to almost nothing.

I know I need to either replace or rebuild the PRV. Could this valve also be causing my volume problems? Thanks.

Reach4

Reaction score
You could have a blockage after the PRV. Do you have a whole-house filter? Have you checked that there is not a partially closed valve before or after the PRV, but after the pressure gauge?

http://www.zurn.com/media-library/web_documents/pdfs/installation/is70xl-pdf says there is a cartridge. Often the low lead and older units can use the same replacement parts. Check on that.

Some PRVs have a screen, but yours does not seem to be one of them.

Edit:
Oooh... http://www.homedepot.com/p/Zurn-Wil...er-Pressure-Reducing-Valve-RK1-70XL/203374788 shows a screen for the 1-inch repair kit. I presume other sizes would be the same in that regard. Perhaps you could just clean your screen.
d06dec51-7a55-4ab2-b926-ae8ba9f90cbc_145.jpg