Water neutralizer stays in backwash mode

Users who are viewing this thread

codmanri

Reaction score
I have a water neutralizer, aquapure cbw1501. The last few times it has auto-started the regeneration cycle it stayed in constant backwash and never completed - water just kept draining for an extended period of time. I had to manual turn the dial to get it to trigger the end of the cycle and stop draining water out.

If i start the cycle manually it never seems to go past the first few pins (shouldnt it only be 2 mins/pin?). The clock still appears to be keeping time.

I am new to these systems and trying to figure out what needs to be replaced or if there is any further troubleshooting i can do. Also wondering how long I should be expecting the backwash/drain cycle to take if working properly? Appreciate any help/advice.

Attachments

• IMG_20170331_104817578.jpg
    IMG_20170331_104817578.jpg
    63.2 KB · Views: 321
  • IMG_20170331_104756897.jpg
    IMG_20170331_104756897.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 339
  • IMG_20170331_104731747.jpg
    IMG_20170331_104731747.jpg
    60.7 KB · Views: 318
  • IMG_20170331_104743913.jpg
    IMG_20170331_104743913.jpg
    77.2 KB · Views: 366

Bannerman

Reaction score
I suspect it maybe time to rebuild your control valve.

With a piston, spacer and seal design, the seal rings can swell, wear or abrade over time, resulting in the piston no longer being able to slide smoothly within the cylinder. If friction increases to an amount greater than the force the drive motor can provide, then the piston can become jammed in the cylinder and cannot advance to the next position.

While the link to the 2 Fleck models which Reach4 provided appear to be very similar to your valve, the inlet and outlet connections appear to be much different on your valve.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score