Washing machine drain help!!

Users who are viewing this thread

Daryle Lewis

Reaction score
Hello all, this is my first time posting and I am desperate for some help. I little background on me. I grew up doing plumbing and electrical with my dad who was a master electrician/plumber. I can do finish and water line plumbing all day but I am by no means an expert when it comes to DWV. After my dad passed away we purchased a home that had 2 living areas with separate entrances/ driveways so i could help take care of my mom. She lives downstairs which is a fully finished walk-out basement and I live upstairs. The basement ust needed room built and finish plumbing, but all the rough in was already there. I have attached an image to help show what I am dealing with. There is an upstairs and downstairs utility room that are directly above each other. Both washing machines share a drain that is vented to roof. When the upstairs washing machine drains suds AND water pour out of the downstairs washing machine drain, flooding the floor. Just to be clear we have been in this house 12 years and this started about 2 years ago. One of my concerns is that where the drain goes into the slab it HAS to go below the footer, I am worried it may have settled and corrupted the drain line. I have tried dry solvent drain cleaner which has not helped at all. I have asked a couple people and they say it is plumbed wrong and there is not suds relief. I understand that may be true BUT why wouldn't it have done this the entire time? Any advice you guys could give would be GREATLY appreciated! Thank you! Daryle

Attachments

• Plumbing.png
    Plumbing.png
    137 KB · Views: 2,226

Reach4

Reaction score
How long since you got the septic pumped?

I have tried dry solvent drain cleaner which has not helped at all.
Pouring drain cleaner into a septic tank can kill needed bacteria. What is a solvent drain cleaner?