Washer/Dryer install in second floor

Users who are viewing this thread

mjrtom7

Reaction score
Greetings y'all...I'm planning to install a washer and gas dryer on the main floor of my Mothers' house since she is having trouble navigating the stairs now. My question is/are: 1.) Is there a DIY anywhere I can follow to accomplish this? I have basic plumbing skills, but I'm a weekend plumber at best. 2.) What are the concerns regarding venting if I tie in to an existing drain? 3.) I'm assuming a 2" drain is required due to the volume of water discharged from the washer...yes?
4.) Should I abandon my illusions of plumbing grandeur and start saving my pennies to pay a plumber to do the job? I'm not the least bit afraid to tackle it myself, but I don't know all of the technical details involved.
Thanks in advance for reading my long-winded post, and for your advice! :rolleyes:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You may want to pay a plumber on this...playing with gas is possible, but the ramifications of an error can be disastrous. Yes, you do need a vent, and 2" is the minimum and typical size.

mjrtom7

Reaction score
that's what I thought...

thanks for your input. I've run gas line before, taking great caution to make sure that it doesn't leak at any of the joints. However, I just wasn't sure how to configure plumbing for the drain, or where to vent it. Would it need to be tied into an existing vent?
Thanks again for your help...this is a GREAT forum!! :D:D:D

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The drain, as long as it is vented, does not need to tie into an existing one...you can run a new one up through the roof, or tie into an existing one in the attic. The tie-in could be lower -- it must be 6" above the flood plane of the next highest fixture, which is typically around 42" (36" kitchen sink + 6"). For the possible damage a leaking WM can create, you should probably consider a pan for it with a drain.