Voltage drop from underground power line - How to splice?

Users who are viewing this thread

Daniel Graves

Reaction score
I have an old property that has a house and two separate garages that have underground lines direct buried supplying 240v power to them. Two power lines and two common lines (they look aluminum to me) and I'm not good with gauge size but the conductor is about the diameter of a pencil diameter. So, stupid me gets a good sized loader stuck in the mud about a month ago and it sank down far enough to break one of the power wires (I didn't know they were there at the time). I did a little research (not enough apparently) and used an aluminum block splice kit with shrink tubing. Made a good connection and everything worked great until two days ago. I'm now getting 120v on one of the wires and 95v on the other. I checked the breaker and they both leave the house panel at 120v each. I'm going to dig up the connection tonight to make sure that's the problem but I'll be shocked if it's not. LOL, I just reread this, no pun intended.

After that long intro I have a question... What is the best way to repair the break? Once I get it exposed again I'll take some photos but I wanted to ask the question here to get ideas.

Dan

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
Aluminum wire does not like contact with earth (dirt) material and moisture. It oxidizes very fast as you found out and shrink tubing is not waterproof and most likely not approved for this voltage. Post a picture of any labeling on the cable itself to be sure that it can be buried. What size is the breaker at the main panel? Breaker size is a good indication of the wire gauge but its not conclusive unless you can read the stamping. I'm guessing that it is 6 AWG since you think it is aluminum. Did this wire break only at one point or was it shreded? Was there slack to make the connection?