Vintage toilet with no tank question

Users who are viewing this thread

Palladio

Reaction score
First of all, thanks for setting up this great site, it's my first time here.

I am renovating a 1931 bathroom in an Art Deco apartment building in NYC. The bathroom was renovated at some time probably in the early 1950's, judging by the fixtures. Most of the fixtures are worn or pitted and need to be replaced. A very poorly performing American Standard low rise toilet (probably from the 1980s) is also currently in place. The damn thing takes two flushes just about every time.

I would like to keep the bathroom as "vintage" as possible and am either trying to re-plate worn fixtures or replace them with salvage parts in better condition.

I need a low rise toilet, no more than 28" tall, because it has to fit under a casement window that swings open at 29".

Most of the toilets of that era I am finding are too tall. I was in a salvage place today and found a very nice vintage toilet of the sort that doesn't have a tank - like the ones you see today in commercial applications. What are these called? Could something like this be fitted to residential application? Are there certain water pressure requirements that I need to be aware of?

Something like this would fit very well in the space, but I'm note sure if it would function properly in my building.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Many of those commercial toilets are designed for a large water supply line. It would work if you have the proper sized supply...you might, and you might not. Plus, the water pressure has to be decent...not anything super high or out of the ordindary, though.

The toto Guinevere is 28-3/8", and I'm sure there are others that would fit. http://totousa.com/admin/upload/pdfspc/s-ms974224cfg-0406.pdf

Palladio

Reaction score