Vermont, zone 4, sump pump outside drainage question

Users who are viewing this thread

Phaewryn

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm not a plumber. I'm not an engineer. I'm not even all that mechanically-inclined, but this spring, after months of using my pond pump and a garden hose run out the window, which would freeze, and I'd have to bring it in to thaw overnight, then run back out the next day (a ton of work in deep snow and mid calf deep freezing water), I installed the best recommended sump pump in my basement because I live in a house built on top of Vermont bedrock with exposed natural bedrock in the basement and a slope in the back which drains into it and it becomes a spring/pond, more or less, from the groundwater, any time there is a thaw all winter and spring. It's just now drying up here in June with the sump pump only kicking on every hour instead of being like every 5-15 minutes most of late winter into spring (with no pump it just fills to like a foot deep and stays that way all spring). Unfortunately the existing sump basin is poured concrete in the foundation and too small (about the size of a Home Depot 5 gallon bucket which is what I drilled holes in to make a basin basket out of), and nothing I can do about that (budget doesn't allow for any resolution of that), but I'm ok with the pump running more often (have to be, no option).