venting toilets

Users who are viewing this thread

RR

Reaction score
I am a licensed plumber in California where we go by the 1997 UPC. When I install a typical residential drainage system in a crawl space before subfloor is laid, I usually vent the toilets as follows: the 3" line desends vertically from the toilet to a 3" combo @the building drain or branch thereof. Just downstream or upstream of the combo I install a 3x2 sanitee for venting with the branch vertical or rolled no more than 45 degrees. I have used this method for many years and been inspected by many inspectors, but now an inspector has called out for all the sanitees (3 for toilets and 2 for showers) that are used in this manner be replaced with combos or other drainage fittings. I have talked with 3 other inspectors in other towns and they all agree with me and say it's common practice. The UPC doesn't say I can't use this method, but doesn't directly say I can. The UPC Illustrated Training Manual does not have a picture exactly like this method but I did find one in the 1982 manual. I am 99% sure I'm right and am looking for more proof or advice on how to proceed.

Randyj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Not sure if I'm following what you're saying but around here the rule is that a sanitary tee can not be used on it's back....must use a combination and a drain rolled on it's side can not be more than 60 degrees on it's side. We were doing a 6" cast iron drain where the inspector insisted that we pull out two 45's and put 18" between the gland packs connecting them. Everyone on the job thought the two 45's would be fine just like a "long sweep".

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
The only pertinent paragraph I find in the 2001 California Plumbing Code ( based on 2000 UPC ) is 905.2, and I don't see that it prohibits connecting a VENT in the manner you described: