Vent size at takeoff

Users who are viewing this thread

Dusty Fellow

Reaction score
Working on my cast iron dwv 2-bath remodel and here’s a quick question, mostly because I’m without the ideal part and far from a supply place that carries it for at least a few days.

2 inch P trap and arm for the tub. Vent takes off around 12” after the P-trap and will be joining another 1.5” vent to head through roof. Can I use a 2x2 wye for the takeoff and reduce it to 1.5” pipe right after takeoff or must it be a 2x1.5 wye?

I’m of course asking because it will take me a few days to get a 2x1.5 wye but I do have 2x1.5 couplings on hand.

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
Seems like a judgement call, and I have little experience with what inspectors might think , but seems fine by me. I would consider a 2" x 1.5" no hub coupling on a fitting to be the equivalent of a 2x1.5 reducing bushing in plastic, and I can't imaging anyone objecting to that.

Cheers, Wayne

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
I like to avoid piping below 2 inch on cast. but each job is differant and depends on framing as well.
Whats the main reason to go all castiron on this Job Dusty? Just looking for robust and quality?

Dusty Fellow

Reaction score
I like to avoid piping below 2 inch on cast. but each job is differant and depends on framing as well.
Whats the main reason to go all castiron on this Job Dusty? Just looking for robust and quality?

Ya. This one will be a rental, and I don’t like plastic in walls where all it takes is one screw...

Secondly, interior load bearing walls are 2x4 with let-in and would require a lot of work with the old notches and holes for 2” pipe horizontal runs. Easier to just re-route some pipes and do horizontals in attic. Plus I would have to do protection plates for plastic from the other side where I wasn’t planning on touching drywall.