Dominic Byrne

Reaction score
GOMA_toilets_02.jpg
Basic Urinal Diagram.jpg

Dominic Byrne

Reaction score
I can't see if the text is attached, so here's what I wrote:

Hi all,

My name's Dominic - I'm posting this in the general thread as it probably covers a few bases, and thought I'd check this forum here for some possible advice.

This project will probably sound quite odd to many, and won't make much sense in a way (in terms of a functional plumbing project), but I'm an artist in Sydney who is planning an exhibition in a gallery at the end of June involving plumbing.

The premise of the show is a single line of steel/aluminium urinal troughs (ATTACHED: Basic diagram of the side view of what I imagine the mechanism may look like, stock image of type of urinal I'll be making) that follow the cube-like gallery room's walls. I've attached photos of the type of urinal I mean, which is not individual urinals but an uninterrupted strip that will probably cover under half the wall's height and a portion of the floor.

The idea for the show is to create a urinal, that when looked at by the viewer, using motion sensors, will flush itself, the water travelling down into the urinal, through the drain (the opening for a cistern) which will have a water pump and pipe pumping it up until the next viewer comes by to view the work. Essentially, it will be a sculptural work that is cleaning itself upon being seen, a non-functional bathroom that can be "used" by anyone.

As described, you'll notice that there will be no connection to the gallery's plumbing, rather the work will function as its own fountain system, using a cistern for a supply of water at the bottom of the urinal (covered by metal base). And the work will for the above reason DEFINITELY not be used to urinate in.