Unknown drain stack / sump set up

Users who are viewing this thread

Brian lopatta

Reaction score
plumbing.jpg
Good Afternoon,
My wife and I are considering purchasing a new house. While viewing the basement, we came across this set up at the sump pump. The drain coming down is from one of the upstairs bathrooms and runs into the stack. The issue I have is the pipe that comes off to the side and runs into the sump. Looking at the fittings, it looks like this was added after the house was built, as they are new. The homeowners insisted that there was never any back ups or water in their basement. I have never seen anything like this and don't know if it is acceptable or even legal (canfield, Ohio). My initial thoughts was that this is some type of blowoff from the drain in the event the sewer backs up but I am not sure. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro... I don't know if Canfield allows sump pump discharge into the sanitary sewer system; some places do, and others do not.

From a functional point of view, that trap is not quite right in that there is no vent. However that might never cause a problem, because the other end of the pipe is to the sump pump, and the openings for that are below the water level. It seems to me that replacing that cleanout plug with a big AAV could prevent that trap from siphoning out.

Getting a radon test? The area around the sump pump would be the suspected hot spot.

Brian lopatta

Reaction score
I am not a pro... I don't know if Canfield allows sump pump discharge into the sanitary sewer system; some places do, and others do not.

From a functional point of view, that trap is not quite right in that there is no vent. However that might never cause a problem, because the other end of the pipe is to the sump pump, and the openings for that are below the water level. It seems to me that replacing that cleanout plug with a big AAV could prevent that trap from siphoning out.