Undersized well pump - Looking for 2nd opinion/confirmation

Users who are viewing this thread

dsg

Reaction score
I recently installed an irrigation system at a house I moved into last fall. I ran into a problem the first time I tried to run the sprinklers for an extended period and I'm hoping the experts here can weigh in on the diagnosis I received before I make a (possibly expensive) decision.

Here is the situation:

The house was built last summer, and the well was drilled 13 months ago. It was a spec build that I purchased after it was completed. I was not involved in the construction. About a month ago I started working on putting in a lawn. As part of that I put in an irrigation system. I have done this once before (successfully) at my last house with a well and similar sized yard. I used Rain Bird's design service for the design and installed everything myself. I'm not a pro, but I've read everything I can on irrigation systems and like to think I know what I'm doing. That being said, I know it is totally possible I made a mistake that has contributed to this problem.

The problem I'm experiencing is this: When I run the sprinklers they will work fine for anywhere from 7-10 minutes. At a certain point the pressure will start to drop to a point where the sprinkler heads go down and the gauge near my pressure tank will drop to nearly zero.

The irrigation system has a 11 zones all at 9 GPM. (I got about 9.5 GPM when testing the flow rate of the pump.) The main line is 1" PVC and it wraps around the far end of the house, probably 60-70 feet, gaining about 12 feet elevation at the far end. Laterals are 1 1/4" poly pipe. I have a RPZ backflow preventer at the POC, the heads at the other end of the yard are higher in elevation.