Unapreciated/Unused Well Pump

Users who are viewing this thread

Alternety

Like an engineer
Reaction score
There are lots of posts on well pumps. Pretty much all the "normal" pumps. Usually accompanied with what is wrong with them.

A pump I have been using for >12 years is the LORENTZ Solar Pump Systems. I think they are still found under this name.

They are designed as an Archimedes pump (think back to explanations of this as a screw in a trough in your youth). The pump is composed of a stainless steel tube, hard rubber filling, and an eccentric rotor. The motor is 3 phase AC at 48V. No electronics or vulnerable parts under water. Brushless water impervious motor. Water bearings. Very deep use. Mine is at 550'. Other versions go deeper. The design is derived from pumps used in oil wells. They handle gritty materials. Not sure how much.

Simple 48 VDC power supply runs the system. It feeds the Inverter that drives the AC pump. I built my own 48 VDC supply; it should have been a higher voltage. Probably 60 VDC to 70 VDC. I don't think it has ever drawn more that 500 W. I should mention that the pump is providing about 3 GPM from 550'..

Unlike centrifugal pumps they are positive pressure generating pumps because of the structure of the helical pump head. Sustained pressure can be quire high. I have used the pump with a pressure switch (40/60) to pressurize the house in an emergency. I accidentally allowed one of these to run without pressure turn-off. It was approaching failure pressures in the house when I saw it. I asked the original importer if the high pressure may have hurt anything. Their response was "how high did it go"; we have not been able to break it.

Power consumption is way lower than "normal" centrifugal pumps. They are sold as solar powered pumps.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com