Turning off water supply but leaving the boiler on?

Users who are viewing this thread

bentz69

Reaction score
As a new homeowner Im still learning quite a few things. The family and I will be away for 7 days and the tempertures over here are dropping just below freezing at night time now. My home is well insulated.

I have a burnham v84 oil boiler for baseboard heating and hot water. I understand there is no perfect solution but I would like to minimize the potential damage if a pipe were to burst/leak while away if possible. I was curious if I could turn off the main water supply to the house but keep the boiler on. Obvioubly no one would be using the sink/shower/toilet and I will flush the toilets and open up the sinks to let any remaining water out before heading out. I would be leaving the thermostats set to roughly 50-55F so its possible baseboard heating could come on. Is that ok?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Unless you blow the lines out, there will likely be some pockets of water in the supply pipes. Also, there will be water in the traps that could freeze. If any of those traps are blown out, they'll provide an open path for sewer gasses to get inside of the home. If you were really worried about it, you can buy some RV antifreeze and pour some in each of the traps. This differs from automotive style in that it isn't toxic.

65 might be a safer temperature. Also, open the kitchen cabinet doors under the sink and the same on a vanity if it's on the outside wall to allow some room heat to circulate.