trying to unclog old unused drain in slab

Users who are viewing this thread

blues1360

Reaction score
I am converting a room in my house to a bathroom. The room was originally plumbed with a drain where I want to put mine for the shower stall. Currently, my problem is that the old drain in the slab is clogged. It wont run at all. The drain is metal. The house was built in 1976, and it would not surprise me if it has not been used since ( the room was used for storage). Trust me it was meant to be a bathroom... there is a place for a toilet as well. Anyway, I have used a hand snake, and a drill powered snake with no success. I was thinking of rentaing a power snake. Then if that did not work, it would be time to rip up the slab. I am new to this stuff and would appreciate any advice on how to attempt to clear the current drain, and when to call it, and hack up the subfloor. PS the drain is only 3 ft from the waste line. Thanks

power_spin.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
Forget the rental snakes. If it can be augered and cleared, you need an experienced professional plumber with a professional HD auger. Anything else is like sending a boy to do a man's job. If for some reason it can't be cleared, then he can open the slab and properly replace the line. This is not a DIY job.

blues1360

Reaction score
If it is true that I need a plumber...What does the experienced plumber have to offer for over a DIY person when it comes to clearing a drain? Also, why can you not rent a HD auger? Aren't those the 500-1000 dollar ones at the hardware store? I mean no offense, just trying to learn. If I do need an experienced plumber I would like to be an informed consumer.

Mikey

Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek
Reaction score
I consider myself a very experienced and adventurous DIYer. Based on what I've read in this forum, I wouldn't consider trying to use one of those pro-grade snakes/augers/amateur-maiming machines.