Trap arm from P trap damaged, stuck in drain pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

Z from KC

Reaction score
Hello,

Sorry to post yet another P trap question but after much searching in this forum and others I couldn't find my particular variant. I'm new to both owning a home and being my own plumber so go easy on me please!

My bathroom sink was draining slowly so I took out the P trap and successfully snaked the clog. However, during the removal, the nut at the trap end of the trap arm (i.e. B in the picture) fell apart. It's still on the pipe, but it'll never seal again as half of it has fallen off.

"That's fine", I think to myself, "I'll just replace the whole trap." I remove the nut at end A (in the photo, the loose nut is sitting in the middle of the pipe). Underneath the nut, there appears to be a thin rubber ring between the pipe and the fitting. Try as I might, I can't get the trap arm to budge. I've both pulled and twisted: no dice. I've applied enough force that the drain pipe has started to move, so I'm nervous to pull harder.

At end A, the trap arm is stuck. At end B, the nut is damaged. End B is threaded, but I can't fit a new slip nut over the pipe since end A is stuck.

I see three options. My ultimate goal is to install a new PVC trap (and new PVC trap arm if need be). The pipe is 1 1/4" diameter.

1) Find a nut that can be applied to end B. Would this have to be some sort of split nut or will a normal slip nut screw on from below? Can I switch to a PVC trap right at that connection?

2) Find a way to pull out the trap arm. Any suggestions are welcome.

3) Cut the trap arm where it straightens out and use a rubber coupling to switch to PVC there, then go all-PVC with the trap and connection to sink. Any recommendations on a coupling? The stiffer the better since the tailpiece-to-sink connection isn't threaded but is just held together by compression.

What should I try first? Any recommendations are much appreciated!

Thanks,
-Z

Slide1.JPG