Toilet w/bubble but flushes great??

Users who are viewing this thread

Brilis

Reaction score
Hey guys, first post. I am a mechanical contractor. I have done all my own plumbing for years. I have an American Standard toilet bowl I installed in 2002. Never had any problems except the occasionally auger or plunger.

About a week ago, toilet clogged, plunged it out, no problems. Now I am noticing a small bubble coming out of the small siphon hole when I flush. Toilet still flushes the same, not restrictions. This toilet is on the 2nd floor. The toilet on the 1st floor I checked and it has a few very small bubbles come from the siphon hole. Maybe always there, not sure. Also flushes fine. I also ran an auger on the upstairs toilet with the bubble, it is all clear.

All sinks, shower/tubs also drain fine. No problems. House only has one vent. Roof is high so I have not gone up yet but I kind of ruled it out since everything is flushing and draining fine. I poked all the small holes under the rim of both toilets. Still a small bubble on flush. I also changed the float/fill assembly on the upstairs toilet and checked the water level, perfect. If not for the one bubble when you flush, you would not think anything is wrong. Not sure what is happening or what to try. It is a 1.6 gallon flush.

HELP!! I really want to know why all of a sudden a bubble. Should I just get a new toilet and if so also what do you guys recommend. I was looking at the Toto Drake 11.

Thanks!!!

Last edited:

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
A new Toto Drake would be a very definite improvement over a 2002 AS. However, to be fair, I would seek to find a reason for the bubbles.

Brilis

Reaction score
I am with you. I have to find out why the bubble hah. We have very hard water in my town, very hard. Maybe something internal?

Brilis

Reaction score
Hey guys, just checking to see if anyone has any thoughts on something to try? Thanks.

Stuff

Reaction score