Toilet making low hum sound when flushing

Users who are viewing this thread

Isaiah M

Reaction score
Hello, experts,

I am a novice DIY’er. I recently started noticing that when I flush the toilet I hear a low deep hum as I flush the toilet. I have no ideas what this is. Should I be concerned?

I would appreciate your thoughts, advice and direction.

Isaiah

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The humming is normally a fill valve that is vibrating. If it's a banging, then it can be a loose washer at the wall stop. Sometimes opening that valve quiets the vibration. A new shutoff also does it.

How old is the toilet? You may be thinking of a new fill valve in the tank at some point.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I replaced this fill valve that came with the new toilet we had installed in 2007. The fill valve was still working, but the flapper was barely there. I wound replacing the handle, the flapper, the fill valve and the shutoff at the wall with a 1/4 turn.

The homeowner was 90 and was saying as I was leaving,

"That should last me a lifetime."

korky-old-fill-valve.jpg

Isaiah M

Reaction score
The humming is normally a fill valve that is vibrating. If it's a banging, then it can be a loose washer at the wall stop. Sometimes opening that valve quiets the vibration. A new shutoff also does it.

How old is the toilet? You may be thinking of a new fill valve in the tank at some point.

Hi, there, Terry!

thanks for the response. The toilet is about 2 years old. I replaced everything when I installed it (toilet, wax ring, water hose connector from wall to toilet).

when you say say there is a loose washer is that at the water hose connector from wall to toilet? Which end would this most likely be happening on the end where the wall is at or where it connects to the toilet? Do these shut off valves go bad a within two years of use?

isaiah

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard