Toilet Flange Newbie: Lead Sleeve w Brass or ABS?

Users who are viewing this thread

JanSolo

Reaction score
Hello, wise plumbing elders!

I'm remodelling my bathroom and I'm redoing down to the subfloor! It's my first time plumbing a toilet, so I've lots to learn; hopefully you can set me on the right path!

On pulling out my old toilet, I noticed that it had a brass flange with a lead sleeve that was hammered over the flange and the wax seal was on top of that. I had to straighten it out to get the brass flange off, so it's a bit bruised, but potentially salvageable. The lead sleeve goes straight into vertical cast iron pipe that leads to the sewer. (This is called hub pipe, yes?)

So I think my options are:

A: Try to keep the existing lead sleeve, reuse the brass flange and reinstall it all after refinishing the floor. There's maybe 2 or 3 inches of lead still protruding above the subfloor; I'd probably have at least an inch or so available after the floor is finished. I might have cracked it a bit though when I straightened it.

B: Take out the lead sleeve from the hub pipe, install a donut or bushing (curious; what's the difference?), a short ABS riser and ABS flange. I feel like this is the 'cleaner' way to go. I'm familiar with ABS cementing; it doesn't scare me, unlike all this messing about with lead.

So here are my questions:

1. I'm leaning towards option B; am I nuts? Should I stick to A? Maybe there's an option C I'm not aware of? Help me, wise plumbing elders!

2. How is the lead sleeve attached to the cast iron pipe? Is this one of those lead + oakum fittings that I've heard about? Can I just drill it out?

3. In the picture, it looks like the lead sleeve goes into some kind of fitting on the cast iron hub. What is this? Presumably, I'll need to get it out before I can install a donut, no?

Thanks again, O wise plumbers!

Jan.

Last edited:

JanSolo

Reaction score
F077152B-8F4D-4E4B-955C-6842488E9963.jpeg
187B9531-50D6-4B09-BFCE-D397D78EDDAB.jpeg