Toilet Flange Installation for Dummies?

Users who are viewing this thread

dan_public

Reaction score
Hi. I'm a newbie here and have limited plumbing experience. I need help with a toilet flange - I think it needs to be replaced.

I'm remodeling our bathroom and replacing the bathroom particle board subfloor with two layers of plywood. On top of this will be a Schluter Ditra uncoupling and water proofing layer, and then tile. The layers will look like this:

- Tile
- Ditra
- 3/8 Plywood
- 3/4 Plywood

The current toilet flange (see pic below) is screwed into the particle board and connected to ABS. The new plywood layers + Ditra will raise the flange level by at least 1/2 inch. So...

1) Do I have to replace the toilet flange? (I think "Yes" because of the new, higher subfloor.)

2) Should the flange be placed on top of the Ditra layer and screwed through to the plywood, or should the flange be screwed to the plywood and then Ditra wrapped around it?

3) Where can I find a "Toliet Flange Installation for Dummies" how-to? :D

Thanks in advance for any help.

Dan.

p.s., I have limited plumbing experience but have worked with PVC and ABS.

Attachments

• ToiletFlange.jpg
    ToiletFlange.jpg
    38.7 KB · Views: 8,794

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score