Toilet bowl continues to fill after flushing

Users who are viewing this thread

Shobuddy

Reaction score
I'm a plumbing novice. I noticed the toilet bowls in my home continue to fill with water after flushing and they only stop filling when the tank is full. Is this normal behavior? I ask because shortly after flushing, the bowl is full and the continued filling of the bowl is a waste of water since its just emptying out/clearing the overflow as it fills.

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
You could replace the refill tube with something like this: https://www.fluidmaster.com/products/toilet/fill-valves/215-water-saving-roller-clamp-refill-tube/
215_WaterSavingRefilTubeClip_Package_530x530-150x150.png

You didn't need to shout.

Last edited by a moderator:

Shobuddy

Reaction score

Reach4

Reaction score
Sorry, didn't realize it was bold. I'll look into that option. This is a new construction home about a year old so I figure it is operating as it should. Moreover, is the way it functions normal?
What is the toilet? Some fill valves have an adjustable refill, and cutting down the refill is a matter of turning a screw. Some could have a pinch clamp such as the Fluidmaster.

Normal is for the bowl to get filled to its max a few seconds before the tank gets filled and shuts off the water flow. How many seconds is yours early? Then the water level might drop just a bit as the water settles down to the "weir" height.

Shobuddy

Reaction score
What is the toilet? Some fill valves have an adjustable refill, and cutting down the refill is a matter of turning a screw. Some could have a pinch clamp such as the Fluidmaster.

Normal is for the bowl to get filled to its max a few seconds before the tank gets filled and shuts off the water flow. How many seconds is yours early? Then the water level might drop just a bit as the water settles down to the "weir" height.

Thank you for the response. I will take a video and post it this evening.

Jadnashua